Skip to content

1920 APFA season

The 1920 Apfa Season was the inaugural Season of the american Professional Football Association which was renamed the national Football League in 1922. An Agreement to form a League was reached on August 20 1920 by four independent Teams from Ohio in Ralph Hay's Office in Canton Ohio with Plans to invite the Owners of more Teams for a second Meeting on September. The 'American Professional Football Conference' was made up of Hay's Canton Bulldogs, Akron Pros, the Cleveland Tigers and the Dayton Triangles, who decided on a six-game Schedule to play each other at Home-And-Away, an Agreement to respect each other's Player Contracts, and to take a Stand against signing College Students whose Class had not yet graduated.


Similar TL;DR